Nick Saban Sets NFL Record with Record 1st Round Draft Picks

Nick Saban Sets NFL Draft Record

Alabama’s Legendary Coach, Nick Saban, surpasses Joe Paterno for most first-round selections with 34

Alabama coach Nick Saban wasn’t able to attend the 2019 NFL Draft because of hip replacement surgery he had earlier in the week, however, his impact was felt in Nashville.

Quinnen Williams was taken first by the Jets as the 3rd overall pick of the night.  Jonah Williams was taken next by the Cincinnati Bengals as the 11th overall pick, and Josh Jacobs,  was the 24th overall pick by the Oakland Raiders in the first round Thursday night, becoming Saban’s 34th first round draft pick.

No coach has ever produced more first round picks during the common draft era.

Saban entered Thursday with 31 first round picks, which was two behind legendary Penn State coach Joe Paterno in that category. Saban then added three more first round picks Thursday night — Quinnen Williams, Jonah Williams and Josh Jacobs.

Other NFL draft trivia at stake

Depending on what happens in the later rounds of the NFL Draft in Nashville, Alabama has a good chance of passing Nebraska and moving into sixth place all-time in the number of players picked.

The Crimson Tide has 355 players chosen since the NFL draft began, while the Nebraska Cornhuskers have 359. USC is the all-time leader with 506.

Alabama has now had 29 players selected in the first round of the last 11 NFL Drafts. They are listed below:

2009 – Andre Smith (No. 6, Cincinnati)
2010 – Rolando McClain (No. 8, Oakland), Kareem Jackson (No. 20, Houston)
2011 – Marcell Dareus (No. 3, Buffalo), Julio Jones (No. 6, Atlanta), James Carpenter (No. 25, Seattle), Mark Ingram (No. 28, New Orleans)
2012 – Trent Richardson (No. 3, Cleveland), Mark Barron (No. 7, Tampa Bay), Dre Kirkpatrick (No. 17, Cincinnati), Dont’a Hightower (No. 25, New England)
2013 – Dee Milliner (No. 9, New York Jets), Chance Warmack (No. 10, Tennessee), D.J. Fluker (No. 11, San Diego)
2014 – C.J. Mosley (No. 17, Baltimore), Ha Ha Clinton-Dix (No. 21, Green Bay)
2015 – Amari Cooper (No. 4, Oakland)
2016 – Ryan Kelly (No. 18, Indianapolis)
2017 – Marlon Humphrey (No. 16, Baltimore), Jonathan Allen (No. 17, Washington), O.J. Howard (No. 19, Tampa Bay), Reuben Foster (No. 31, San Francisco)
2018 – Minkah Fitzpatrick (No. 11, Miami), Da’Ron Payne (No. 13, Washington), Rashaan Evans (No. 22, Tennessee), Calvin Ridley (No. 26, Atlanta)
2019 – Quinnen Williams (No. 3, New York Jets), Jonah Williams (No. 11, Cincinnati), Josh Jacobs (Oakland, No. 24)