Heisman Finalists Announced

Empty stores, quarantined firefighters: Washington city at coronavirus epicenter reels as death toll rises

Is this the Year of the Quarterback for Heisman Voters?

Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson, Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield and receiver Dede Westbrook, Michigan linebacker Jabrill Peppers and Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson were announced as Heisman Trophy finalists on Monday night, sending a full field to New York for the ceremony on Saturday night.

After two running backs and one quarterback were invited to New York a year ago, the field this year settled back into the recent trend that has seen this award go to the best quarterback in the country. With quarterbacks dominating the field of finalists, it seems likely a quarterback will win the award for the fifth time in the past six years.

Jackson has long been considered the favorite to win the award after opening September on a torrid touchdown pace, racking up 26 total TDs in the month and at least 400 yards of offense in each game.

Though Louisville lost its final two games to put a damper on its season, Jackson ended up with the ACC single-season total touchdown record with 51 and became the first player in FBS history with 3,300 yards passing and 1,500 yards rushing.

Lamar Jackson is the first Heisman finalist in Louisville school history, combine this with his amazing record this year and he appears to be the sentimental favorite.

Stop the Bull’s Top 3 Pic

  1. Lamar Jackson
  2. Deshaun Watson
  3. Jabrill Peppers